Wound Care Guide

Our treatment protocols are intended to treat traumatic wounds and so-called "chronic" wounds, ie wounds which have not closed for 4 weeks or more. 

Preparation of care: The systematic use of antiseptics when changing dressings is not recommended by health professionals. Studies demonstrate their harmful action on "saprophytic" bacteria, ie harmless bacteria which are naturally present on the skin and which actively participate in the reconstruction of the skin, in symbiosis with the organism.

Healthcare professionals recommend cleaning (we talk about mechanical debridement) using mild soap (no shower gel!), Lukewarm water and a washcloth if the wound is large, or a woven cotton pad. if the wound is small.

When to disinfect a wound? 

First, a wound is washed to free foreign bodies and / or dead or damaged tissue. 

All wounds are colonized by bacterial germs. Some are dangerous because they can cause infection, but others are beneficial for wound healing (we speak of saprophytic bacteria). What matters is the simple clinical observation of the wound and the occurrence of any symptoms which, when they appear, should alert the patient to an unfavorable development. 

If the wound is clean, water and mild soap are sufficient, combined with a good cleaning (compress, ...) 

If there are signs of an infection, it is necessary to distinguish four stages of infection, ranging from the least severe to the most severe.

Stage 1:  inflammation is the combination of three symptoms: redness, pain, heat (in and) around the wound. "The wound is red, it is hot and it is painful."

Explanation: there is a local development of pathogenic bacteria (bad bacteria) and the human body reacts normally (this is inflammation) by fighting against these bacteria. This involves the action of white blood cells and macrophages present in our blood.

It is necessary to act locally by fighting against the pain for the comfort of the patient.

Stage 2:  local infection revealed by the presence of pus, without fever.

Explanation: the destruction of bacteria by white blood cells and dead tissue by macrophages results in the production of a whitish substance, pus. 

It is necessary to act locally by removing the pus (cleaning) and applying an antiseptic to the wound. There are many chemicals that can help control the growth of bacteria without distinguishing between good and bad bacteria. This is why their use is limited in time. Using the antiseptic for too long will slow down the wound closing process.

Unlike chemical antiseptics and antibiotic creams, our medical honey fights against the proliferation of 100% of pathogenic germs (gram + and gram -) without altering saprophytic germs, i.e. good bacteria.

Stage 3: presence of fever, in addition to the symptoms of stage 2.

Explanation: the infection is no longer local, it has passed into the blood. The body fights and responds by raising its temperature in an attempt to kill bacteria. This is the principle of fever.

You should consult your doctor as soon as possible and act systemically (a drug) after having identified the pathogenic germs in order to act in a targeted and effective manner.

Stage 4: gangrene and risk of sepsis. The patient's life is in danger.

This stage leads to emergency hospitalization and the management of the patient.

Cases of self-medication or the precariousness of certain patients, or even the rapid evolution of a wound due to the patient's fragility (eg: diabetes, undernutrition, age, etc.) or even the denial of the patient himself. even can lead to the occurrence of such extreme situations.

Guide de soins de plaies

Nos protocoles de soins sont destinés à traiter des plaies traumatiques et des plaies dites "chroniques", c'est à dire des plaies qui ne se sont pas refermées depuis 4 semaines ou plus. 

Préparation des soins: L'usage systématique des antiseptiques lors des changements de pansements sont déconseillés par les professionnels de la santé. Des études démontrent leur action néfaste sur les bactéries "saprophytes", c'est à dire des bactéries inoffensives qui sont naturellement présentes sur la peau et qui participent activement à la reconstruction de la peau, en symbiose avec l'organisme.

Les professionnels de la santé recommandent un nettoyage (on parle de débridement mécanique) à l'aide de savon doux (pas de gel douche!), d'eau tiède et un gant de toilette si la plaie est grande ou une compresse en coton tissé si la plaie est de petite surface.

Quand désinfecter une plaie? 

En première intention, on lave une plaie pour en dégager les corps étrangers et/ou les tissus morts ou abîmés. 

Toutes les plaies sont colonisées par des germes bactériens. Certains sont dangereux car ils peuvent provoquer une infection, mais d'autres sont bénéfiques à la cicatrisation (on parle de bactéries saprophytes). Ce qui importe, c'est la simple observation clinique de la plaie et la survenance d'éventuels symptômes qui, lorsqu'ils apparaissent, doivent alerter le patient d'une évolution défavorable. 

Si la plaie est propre, de l'eau et du savon doux suffisent, associés à un bon nettoyage (compresse,...) 

Si il y a des signes d'une infection, il y a lieu de distinguer quatre stades de l'infection, allant du moins grave au plus sévère.

Stade 1:  l'inflammation soit, l'association de trois symptômes: rougeur, douleur, chaleur (dans et) autour de la plaie.  "La plaie est rouge, elle est chaude et elle est douloureuse".

Explication: il y a un développement local de bactéries pathogènes (de mauvaises bactéries) et le corps humain réagit normalement (c'est l'inflammation) en luttant contre ces bactéries. Ceci implique l'action des globules blancs et macrophages présents dans notre sang.

Il y a lieu d'agir localement en luttant contre la douleur pour le confort du patient.

Stade 2:  l'infection locale révélée par la présence de pus, sans fièvre.

Explication: la destruction des bactéries par les globules blancs et des tissus morts par les macrophages entraine la production d'une substance blanchâtre, le pus. 

Il y a lieu d'agir localement en éliminant le pus (nettoyer) et en appliquant un antiseptique sur la plaie. Il existe de nombreux produits chimiques pour lutter contre la prolifération des bactéries sans faire la distinction entre les bonnes et les mauvaises bactéries. C'est pourquoi leur usage est limité dans le temps. Un usage trop longtemps d'antiseptique va ralentir le processus de fermeture de la plaie.

Contrairement aux antiseptiques chimiques et crèmes antibiotiques, notre miel médical lutte contre la prolifération de 100% des germes pathogènes (gram + et gram -) sans altérer les germes saprophytes, c'est à dire les bonnes bactéries.

Stade 3: présence de fièvre, en plus des symptômes du stade 2.

Explication: l'infection n'est plus locale, elle est passée dans le sang. Le corps lutte et réagit en augmentant sa température pour tenter de tuer les bactéries. C'est le principe de la fièvre.

Il y a lieu de consulter son médecin au plus vite et d'agir par voie systémique (un médicament) après avoir identifié les germes pathogènes pour agir de manière ciblée et efficace.

Stade 4: gangrène et risque de septicémie. La vie du patient est en danger.

Ce stade entraîne une hospitalisation d'urgence et la prise en charge du patient.

Les cas d'automédication ou la précarité de certains patients, voire l'évolution rapide d'une plaie en raison de la fragilité du patient (ex: diabète, dénutrition, âge, etc...) ou encore le déni du patient lui-même peuvent conduire à la survenue de telles situations extrêmes.